Premium Advert
Plant Expo 2017
Ads by ForumAds
Premium Advert
Co Creative Clivias

Author Topic: Superthrive  (Read 7303 times)

Offline Dries

• Departed Friends
  • Titanium Member
  • 1951-2009
    • Driesesgarden
Superthrive
« on: May 13, 2007, 03:44:49 »
I know that Superthrive has its supporters and sceptics. I brought a small bottle with me from the USA.
What are the opinions of those who tried it? ???
Dries Olivier
Tel. +27-(0)83-264-6230
http://www.driesesgarden.co.za

CliviaMall

Offline Gideon Scheepers

• Administrator
  • Diamond Member
  • Family, Parrots, Clivias, Orchids and Motorcycles
    • My websites
Re: Superthrive
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2007, 06:58:53 »
SuperThrive, is a controversial subject, speak to people about it and they will tell you it is a lot of rubbish, but then one day they open there box of Clivia Dope and there is a bottle right infront.

I have been using ST for about 2 years now, and I use such a little, literally 3 drops per 5 liter fertiliser mix. I mainly use it for my Orchids, and the left overs is then fed to the Clivia. (I once overdosed a Clivia and was rewarded with 11 offsets, it must have been the shock) I cannot in all honesty say that it has made a tremendous difference in my large plants, but definitely in the seedlings, I will see if I can take a pic of some seedlings fed with and without ST, I just planted them in the same crate 2 days ago.

My main use in Clivias is for plants which have rotten off the roots, I have found that it does help to regenerate the roots.

I have a friend who uses ST on his Cycads and he regularly get extra flushes of leaves per year, resulting in a much faster growth rate, but he uses a high dosage.

In Orchids if you use a high dosage you end up with deformed flowers so be careful
Gideon Scheepers
www.cliviaforum.co.za
083 233 5144

Premium Advert
Plant Expo 2017

Offline Johan Steyn

• Titanium Member
  • Smile-eeey
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2007, 07:15:51 »